Orchestra Classics

Orchestra Classics
21st July 2021 MPO Marketing

Orchestra Classics

DATE: 21/07/2021
TIME: 9:00 PM till 10:00 PM

part of #MPOlive 


Franz Liszt Les Préludes
Bedřich Smetana The Moldau
Modest Mussorgsky (arr. Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov) Night on Bald Mountain
Jean Sibelius Finlandia, Op. 26
Jacques Offenbach Orpheus in the Underworld Overture 

MPO Resident Conductor Michael Laus leads the orchestra in a classics concert featuring an eclectic selection of well-known pieces. The programme includes symphonic poems Les Préludes by Franz Liszt, The Moldau, also known as My Fatherland, by Czech composer Bedřich Smetana and Finnish composer Jean Sibelius’ Finlandia.  

Myth and legend also feature in the work by Modest Mussorgsky, Night on Bald Mountain, which achieved popularity following Rimsky Korsakov’s orchestral arrangement and Jacques Offenbach’s Orpheus in the Underworld Overture.  

LOCATION: Pjazza Teatru Rjal, Valletta