MPO Orchestral Concert Series Four

MPO Orchestral Concert Series Four
6th May 2016 MPO Marketing

MPO Orchestral Concert Series Four

DATE: 06/05/2016
TIME: 8:00 PM till 8:00 PM

Mozart: Don Giovanni Overture
Mozart: Piano Concerto D minor K 466
Schumann: Symphony Nr 3 in E-flat “Rhenish”

Conductor/ Soloist: Michael Laus

Two works by Mozart, composed only two years apart, both written in the dark, chilling key of D-minor and depicting the composer at his most dramatic. Two blasting chords announce the beginning of the masterful Don Giovanni Overture, which provides the perfect canvas for the great Piano Concerto. The second half transports the audience through five movements of music, in Schumann’s last and arguably most beautiful Symphony.

LOCATION: Teatru Manoel, Valletta