Closing Series Concert

Closing Series Concert
24th May 2013 cyber

Date: Friday 24 May 2013
Venue: Teatru Manoel
Time: 19:30 hrs
Tickets: Eur 30, 20, 10 concessions Eur 5 (students and senior citizens)
smart card & culture card accepted
Booking: 21246389


Resident conductor Michael Laus brings the MPO Concert Series to a close with an enticing programme. Meet Stravinsky’s Pulcinellabased on excerpts from operas by Pergolesi, which marks the beginning of his neo-classical style. He moulded the music as his own by spicing up the 18th-century harmony and combining instruments to create new timbres.

Brazilian composer Villa-Lobos created what is today undoubtedly the most popular piece for the soprano saxophone, highly acclaimed for its virtuosity and spirited writing. The passionate melodious waves of Rachmaninov’s Symphony, conclude this evening of fiery and passionate music.


  • Stravinsky       Pulcinella Suite
  • Villa-Lobos     Fantasia for Soprano Sax and Orchestra
    soloist: Christine Dimech
  • Rachmaninov  Symphony no 2 in E minor, op 27

FREE Pre-Concert Talk @ 18:45 hrs  Sala Isouard

leader Marcelline Agius
conductor MICHAEL LAUS